Reviews from our holidaymakers about L242

L242 joined Helpful Holidays in 2001

This year over half the people who booked with Helpful Holidays returned their questionnaires letting us know what they thought of us. Of those 8,429 people, 98.7% said they thought we had played our part satisfactorily and 99.1% said they would recommend us to a friend.

We'll try to publish all reviews received by us, including criticisms. For more information please read our

"Nellies was beautifully equipped and a lot of thought had gone into its design. The owners were most welcoming and helpful and the three teenage boys in our party thoroughly enjoyed using the games facilities available. A thoroughly good week was had by all. We are sorry to hear Nellies is being withdrawn from the list but wish Jill and Denny happy travels."
Holidaymaker on 30th Aug 2014

"This property is seriously tired, and in some areas very dirty. Thick dust, and previous occupants dirty tissue found at side of bed. Upstairs bathroom is extremely shabby and shower leaks into the bedroom below. Lounge very dark and unpleasant. Tall windows thick with dirt. Broken slate on barbecue. Broadband is not directly available in property and can only generally be accessed in Snooker Room found on complex. NOT A 4 1/2 STAR PROPERTY AND HASN'T BEEN FOR A VERY LONG TIME. AVOID."
HH reply: "Thank you for taking the time to comment, we're sorry to hear you were so unhappy. We've spoken to the owners in relation to the points you raise above and have the following to add as a response. As you will appreciate, yours was an extremely short notice booking and the owners agree that the usual deep clean hadn't been undertaken. They had however undertaken a cursory clean and felt the property was presentable. They do wish you had let them know at the time you were unhappy as they would have only been too happy to help put things right. The slate the barbecue rests upon does indeed have a crack, but it always has done and is safe to use. The shower over the bath upstairs has now been removed (there is still a hand-shower). Broadband is available and accessible from the snooker room only. We disagree that the property is tired as the other positive feedback from visitors helps to testify."
V Knight on 18th Jul 2014

Holiday cottage review of L242, South Hams, Devon
Mrs Coles on 9th Jun 2014

"We had a lovely stay in this peaceful spot in the countryside. It was a good base for exploring the area and the cottage was a well-equipped home from home. Would definitely recommend."
Holidaymaker on 30th Apr 2014

"Nellie's is a fantastic holiday barn in a great location with lovely owners. It's one of the very best equipped holiday cottages we've stayed in - and we've stayed in quite a lot! Jill's homemade chocolate cake and all the facilities for making a cup of tea upon arrival made some weary travellers very happy! A perfect holiday - but with just one problem - the time flew by too fast!"
Mrs S. Brock on 5th Nov 2013

"Nellie's is a beautifully equipped and very comfortable holiday cottage. The owners are so friendly and were only too happy to help with anything. You are guaranteed a warm welcome! Our dog was also very happy there and enjoyed the private garden."
Holidaymaker on 10th Aug 2013

"Gorgeous location, unbelievable spring flowers and peace"
Holidaymaker on 1st Jun 2013

"This is the second time we have booked through Helpful Holidays. The properties have been excellent and the bookings handled efficiently. Will use the company again when we visit the area"
Wally and Carol Winter on 29th Apr 2013

Holiday cottage review of L242, South Hams, Devon
Mrs Thompson on 13th Jul 2012

Holiday cottage review of L242, South Hams, Devon
Mrs Bristow on 23rd May 2012